BURRITO WISDOM – a vegetarian burrito quest www.burritowisdom.com

TAQUERIA CANCUN (8)

Posted in Mission by burritowizard on March 19, 2009

cancun-exterior

2288 Mission St
San Francisco, CA 94110

(415) 252-9560

 

Regular Vegetarian Burrito $5.41 after tax

 

Measurements: 9” circumference, 7” length (standard size*)

 

*S.F. style tightly wound burritos are significantly denser than other standards.

 

I call this place the tourist trap of San Francisco taquerias, but that doesn’t mean that Cancun doesn’t make a better than decent burrito. Textbook tightly wound Mission style burrito with all the bells and whistles for $5 and change.  A buttery lardy taste draws some alarm, but their amazing spicy guacamole sauce (with whole avocados) helps to offset my worries.  Little too much rice and the flavor is a bit flat.  Enjoyed it, but with all the extraordinary options in the Mission I doubt I will return to Cancun anytime soon (actually I will due to the never ending complaints about this review, and the fact that every better than average burrito deserves a second tasting).

 

cancun-burrito

 

Value: About average

 

WIZARD’S SCORE: 8

 

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bigmouth said, on June 2, 2009 at 8:46 AM

    I’m pretty sure that’s just sliced avocados, not “spicy guacamole sauce.” Also, your burrito looks bulkier than more sour creamy than it should be. Might be worth another visit just to check your experience. Also, since when is Cancun the “tourist trap” of SF taquerias?

  2. burritowizard said, on June 3, 2009 at 10:11 AM

    You’re right about giving it another try. With the better burritos, it’s difficult to properly assess with one visit.

    “Tourist Trap” speaks to the fact that it makes every short list of places to try in San Francisco, yet I believe this is not justified (the brite yellow exterior seems to scream bring your tour bus here). In Los Angeles the “Tourist Traps” would be Burrito King and El Tepeyac (the difference being Cancun makes much better burritos). FYI: I am aware of the irony in calling any burrito shop a “tourist trap”, although give it a couple of years.

    Pretty sure there is spicy seasoning and a liquid in the chopped avocados, but I will double check this on my next visit.

  3. Bigmouth said, on June 3, 2009 at 2:15 PM

    Heh. Maybe the 18th and Mission location, but no one would ever confuse the Civic Center branch for a tourist trap. There’s another more low-key location further up Mission around 29th. The veggie burrito at all three should be just beans, rice, cheese, cilantro, onions, salsa, and sliced avocado. As I mentioned in response to your Taco Plus post, it’s my gold standard for veggie burritos.

    Next time you’re in SF, you should definitely give Papalote a try. Lots of veggie options, including mock meat, as I recall. I prefer the whole beans to the refried black that come standard.

    BTW, great blog! I’m looking forward to trying some of the LA places you mention.

  4. Bigmouth said, on June 28, 2009 at 11:20 AM

    Hit Taqueria Cancun again (Civic Center) on a recent trip to SF. My veggie burrito had waaaaay too much rice, which was disappointing. I think I now know what you mean by the spicy guacamole sauce — are you talking about the stuff that comes in a little container on the side? If so, I thought you were talking about something on the burrito itself — my bad.

  5. burritowizard said, on June 28, 2009 at 12:37 PM

    Yes, I was referring to the spicy guacamole sauce (very good stuff) on the side, and not the sliced avocados that are actually in the burrito.


Leave a Reply

